NATO, or the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, is an intergovernmental military alliance established in 1949. NATO was formed after the end of the Second World War when a group of nations joined forces against the growing threat of the Soviet Union. It was formed with the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty in 1949 by 12 member states - Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the UK and the US. Since then it has expanded to 28 member states, with countries including Germany, Spain, Greece and Turkey joining, and represents a population of more than 900 million people.


The organisation is considered to be the largest and most powerful military alliance in history.

It is committed to individual liberty, democracy, human rights and the rule of law with all decisions taken by consensus. NATO aims to safeguard the freedom and security of its members through political and military means. The permanent headquarters of NATO is in Brussels where the Secretary-General chairs senior decision-making bodies.

Under Secretary General: 

Under Secretary General:

Crisis Staff: